Cala Gogo Campsite

Platja d'Aro, Costa Brava

Site code: CB017

Reviews

Playa D' Aro, Cala Gogo reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Parc
8.4
Accommodation
7.0
Eurocamp couriers
6.7
Value for money
8.1
Overall Holiday
8.6
Scores 8.6 out of 10 based on 68 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
9 out of 10

Trina

Basingstoke
We had a brilliant two weeks at Cala Gogo, staying in a 2 bed classic mobile. The site was very hilly, but the view from our decking was terrific and the walk to and from the pool helped us to work off the ice creams we indulged in! The pools were fab and no matter what time of the day we went, we never had a problem grabbing a couple of sun loungers. We loved having the beach on site, the little train and the minibus service were great. My husband and children, aged 13 and 11 all went scuba diving from the beach, agreeing that this was one of the highlights of the holiday. The only downside was the Eurocamp couriers. We arrived very late and unstandably they were not around to meet us. However I really would of expected that they came to check we had arrived safely ( our car broke down on the way) or at least to introduce themselves!!
Confirmed guest: 11 August 2017
Published on: 16 August 2017
9 out of 10

S

Good park, nicely located within walking distance of the beach. We used it for one day as a stopover en route from Spain to France so didn't explore the local area or use all the facilities. Public areas clean, shop near the pools reasonably priced & good on-site bakery.
Disappointed in the level of on-site service as compared to other Eurocamps we have stayed in. Usually a member of staff escorts new arrivals to their accommodation but that didn't happen in this case. Also new arrivals tend to be offered a cold drink on arrival (we have had anything from chilled water to small bottles of beer in the past) and talked through facilities on site. Again this didn't happen / wasn't offered in this case.
Confirmed guest: 09 August 2017
Published on: 16 August 2017
7 out of 10

Joanne

Knutsford
It's a nice park in a lovely location. Way too busy in August for us though! Beach and pool were rammed. Parc is definitely not a luxurious as others we have been to and some parts need a clean up. We played table tennis and empty beer bottles were there over a couple of days so we cleaned it up ourselves. We also noticed waiters picking cutlery from the floor and putting it back on table or worse, blowing dust off it and putting in table. Food is snack bar quality and would be nice to have more variation. Saying that the waiters were friendly and the location is lovely. Used the Gua Gua which was good and the bakery is fantastic. Children were disappointed that slides aren't continuously open and couldn't see the need for them to be shut part of the day. Eurocamp couriers were brilliant.
Confirmed guest: 09 August 2017
Published on: 15 August 2017
8 out of 10

Louise

Manchester
Beach beautiful with clean sands and water - like being in an aquarium. Coves within walking distance equally beautiful.
Swimming pool area, good with slides for both adults and children! Not enough loungers or parasols - had to run in the morning to get one!
The cabin was spacious and area around it also. The bathroom was a little smelly (urine). Please provide fitted sheets as difficult to make beds and kept uncovering the bed in the night.
Restaurant average - pizzas good but lasagne like a cheap microwave one. Evening entertainment good but started quite late (10pm).
Confirmed guest: 08 August 2017
Published on: 14 August 2017
9 out of 10

Alison

This was our second holiday to this site. We loved the extra space in the two bed/two bath Vista and the permanent shade on the deck. Accommodation wasn't very clean though (cobwebs/rubbish under the beds) and continually infested by ants, botched repair to table.

The site and the pool/slides are great. It is a lovely location close to the sea and wonderful views.
Confirmed guest: 07 August 2017
Published on: 14 August 2017
10 out of 10

Wendy

Essex
Drove to this park from UK. Usually go on French eurocamp holidays. Site very lively, ideal for teenagers. Fantastic location overlooking the sea. Mini train ran to the beach 8-8pm then a minibus until midnight. Private beach too packed to actually get a space to sit and water too dangerous for young children. Nice late afternoon to get a sunbed by the beach bar when less busy. Beach bar very nice and served meals in a lovely setting. Entertainment good. Didn't use kids clubs although travelled with children ages 7, 13 (twins), 15. Pools great and pool bar open. Well stocked supermarket and fresh bread, pastries, pizza breads cooked on site, which was great and cheap to feed the children for lunch. Had couple of power cuts when electricity off for 2 hours in evening, which was an issue as the air con didn't work. Didn't find the Eurocamp rep terribly friendly when we arrived. Used to bubbly reps on French eurocamp sites, who cycle you to your caravan. The rep gave us a map, circled our location and we had to find it ourselves. No entertainment or kids clubs run by Eurocamp reps. All run by Cala Gogo reps. Would definitely recommend this site. It is very hilly and not for those who are unable to walk steep inclines. Washing machines cost 7 euros, great modern shower block facilities and for hand washing/ washing up. Stayed in an Espace 3 bed van which was quite unclean on arrival and very basic compared to eurocamp accommodation in France. Overall we all had a brilliant time at Cala Gogo.
Confirmed guest: 06 August 2017
Published on: 14 August 2017
8 out of 10

Karen

Scotland
Nice campsite although a bit hilly, however Eurocamp pitches were bigger than I've seen elsewhere, with larger decked areas. Pool and slides were very good but insufficient number of sun loungers, we had to wait an hour or so to get a seat on a few occasions. Also the sports pitches don't really feature and are a bit of an afterthought. Entertainment at night ridiculously loud, although the site was very quiet through the night. Our Espace was a roomy enough for two adults and two kids, and didn't feel cramped, however it was let down by various minor faults which could easily have been rectified before we arrived, namely - old sticking plasters stuck to the blankets (eeew!), cupboard door hanging off hinges, drawer hanging off runner, no bulbs in the bedroom lamps and unclean fridge and dishes left for us. Minor niggles but annoying given the £1000 + per week tariff. Would expect better for that price. All in a good site, but typical of the steep coastline. Upside was the terraces gave a good outlook over the trees to the sea and did not feel cramped at all.
Confirmed guest: 04 August 2017
Published on: 11 August 2017