Le Vieux Port Campsite

Messanges, Gascony and Gironde

Site code: GA013

Reviews

Messanges, Le Vieux Port reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Parc
8.0
Accommodation
6.3
Eurocamp couriers
6.9
Value for money
7.5
Overall Holiday
8.1
Scores 8.1 out of 10 based on 182 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
10 out of 10

Ian

Wirral
Nice site, beach in walking distance is fantastic. Pool complex large.
Confirmed guest: 12 August 2017
Published on: 19 August 2017
6 out of 10

Lydia

London
After many happy years with Eurocamp, this holiday was a disappointment. The campsite did not have the infrastructure for the size of the site. There was just one restaurant which was overpriced, as was the bar and it looked out over the car park, the entertainment was in an indoor arena with security to get in and lacked in atmosphere and the campsite shop was the most expensive i have ever experienced - €3.77 for a pack of butter which i could get at the Super U down the road for €1.76. There is convenience pricing and rip off pricing.

Our caravan was old and tired and when we arrived was not clean and we were disappointed with the new approach of not accompanying us to our caravan on arrival, leaving us to find our way after a long 12 hour drive. A small thing but makes all the difference to the start of the holiday.
Confirmed guest: 11 August 2017
Published on: 19 August 2017
6 out of 10

Guy

Camp was too big really, with the play areas for children and swimming pools too far away from our accommodation. The size and distances involved meant it was difficult for children to meet each other and interact. Smaller sites are better for children to mingle.

Distance to the beach was also longer than expected, especially carrying surf boards.
Confirmed guest: 11 August 2017
Published on: 16 August 2017
10 out of 10

Brian

Hythe
Generally everything was very good and for our first experience of Eurocamp was very impressed, like any holiday a few issues but nothing major, have already booked Eurocamp for May 2018.
Confirmed guest: 11 August 2017
Published on: 16 August 2017
7 out of 10

Kaz

Newcastle Upon Tyne
Didn't have electricity in our accommodation for nearly 8 hours on the second day which was very inconvenient because we couldn't use the appliances, especially for children..! Apart from that... All is well.
Confirmed guest: 10 August 2017
Published on: 16 August 2017
5 out of 10

Ewelina

Having used Eurocamp several times in the past, we felt the whole holiday was let down by the park itself and staff. On night one, after arriving at 20:00 due to heavy traffic, our first priority was to feed the children. Not really noticing time after that I went to shower. After around 5 to 10 minutes of being in there, someone was kicking the shower door (full force) and muttering in French. I believed this to be someone maybe looking for his kid maybe and continued to shower. This happened twice more while I finished showering, kicking the door so hard I thought the lock would break. When I finished and opened the door, 2 angry security guards awaited and continued to try and scold me. They pointed to a sign saying closed from 00:00 to 06:00. I must note that the doors we entered have NO such sign stating this. Our friends also had rude staff on a separate occasion on a separate block at 08:30 when trying to use the toilet and wash. Again, shouting in French and slamming the door in their face saying closed. I was furious that having just arrived, and after good experiences at previous parks, we were greeted with pure arrogance and rudeness. We tried the restaurant one night and never returned. The I waited 45 minutes for a sauce to accompany my duck I had ordered and had to ask for it three times, by the time it arrived I had obviously eaten it as it was cold. By this point, my eldest daughter had her burger and chips delivered, 30 minutes after everyone else had finished. The children's meals did not come with chips as advertised in the menu and while complaining to the manager was rudely interrupted constantly by the waitress speaking French in which I had to tell her twice that I was talking and to stop being so rude. Unlike the previous parks (one in France and one in Venice) the entertainment for the kids was very poor. A 30 minute disco all in French was ridiculous. We speak some French but not fluently enough to understand every word. In honesty we were never made to feel welcome at all at this park, everything seemed like a chore for them even when paying money.
On the plus sides, the pools were very clean, along with the park as a whole. The beach was lovely, the waves were too strong for our youngest children however but still had a good time. Eurocamp accomodation was good as it has always been and can't really fault them personally. It's a shame the ResaSol staff all appeared frustrated or unhappy to work. We will not return to this park.
Confirmed guest: 10 August 2017
Published on: 16 August 2017