Südsee-Camp Campsite

Wietzendorf, Germany

Site code: GE019

Reviews

Wietzendorf, Südsee-Camp reviews verified by Reevoo

Parc
7.8
Accommodation
7.4
Eurocamp couriers
9.0
Value for money
7.8
Overall rating
7.7
Overall Holiday
8.3
Scores 7.7 out of 10 based on 36 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
7 out of 10

Lorna

Milngavie, Glasgow
Lovely , well-run camp at Sudsee, however - and it is a fairly significant however- if you have no knowledge of the German language - you will STRUGGLE. All of the info at main camp reception re trips , activities and even the weather forecast were all in only German. As a person who studied German at school & first year at uni , albeit 25 years ago , I have knowledge of tourist level German ( & had a phrase book & dictionary with me) - I found both the staff and the local towns were just not geared up for non-fluent speakers..although I did try! The tourist office on the square in the beautiful old town of Celle had ALL its literature in German & I could not find any in English or French etc.. The site is lovely but local shopping is limited in nearby villages & towns ...The site shop is fairly poor with limited opening hours for such a large site ( 3 hour lunch break - longer than we have experienced in many French sites! Also the swimming on site is not value for money - the "discount" for eurocamp customers is small - it cost 12 euros for my husband and son (13 years) for a 3 hour ( minimum available session) & the main feature of the pool, the flume/lazy river was out of order due to a previous accident.... The accommodation we stayed in was a Vista mobile home - 3 bedrooms..it was very clean ( unlike the one in Duinrell we arrived at on 10th July for the last 3 days of our holiday!) We had a very thin lumpy worn mattress at Sudsee , but on requesting a new one the Eurocamp guys were extremely helpful and provided a change of mattress. We found the guys (Ricky & Andy) very helpful and obliging with any questions we had during our stay and still would recommend the site ( just make sure someone in your party has a basic knowledge of German , as like us until the last couple of days of our stay, we were the only British car we spotted in the camp..which is normally what we love in parts of France , but then my French is better than my German ! Still a beautiful site , well - kept , definitely best suited to active , fitter people as the main pool / shop / reception is a good 7-8 minutes walk . Great location if you like to cycle for miles..very rural but cycle tracks run for miles.
Confirmed guest: 13 July 2016
Published on: 21 July 2016
6 out of 10

Colin

Edinburgh
The parc is fab but the extras do cost a lot! Especially given the "day pass" for the pool doesn't actually allow you to leave and come back! The accommodation is good but I'm not convinced it fully lives up to its cost! All in all though we had a lovely time!
Confirmed guest: 06 July 2016
Published on: 24 July 2016
9 out of 10

Stephen

Loved the lake, plenty to do. Everyone was friendly.
Confirmed guest: 30 June 2016
Published on: 26 July 2016
10 out of 10

Michael

Wisbech
We had a great time, weather was superb 33 degrees for a couple of days and the rain only came during the night. Saw a lot of the surrounding area and much further a field, will go there again

Couriers were very active and good.
Confirmed guest: 25 June 2016
Published on: 28 July 2016
9 out of 10

Jeanette

Preston Family (the eldest child is at school)
Had a fabulous time at Sudsee camp. There is so much to do that we found plenty to occupy ourselves with for the couple of days we were without a car. (The exhaust decided to part company with the rest of it). We would like to give especial thanks to Andy for going above and beyond the call of duty to help us in our hour of need. He was a star!
Lots of great places nearby. Recommend 'Magic Park' and 'Serengetti Park'. On parc itself the pool complex is excellent and the lakeside is great fun. The restaurants are excellent quality and value for money and the shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. There is also a Penny supermarket - a bit like Aldi/Lidl - about a mile away which we used for our 'big shop'.
The camp is unbelievably clean and the laundry is the cheapest I have used in a parc.
Only minor annoyances. The park is sandwiched between two military bases and we were treated each morning to Dutch army tanks trying out their guns. And the ants! They are indigenous almost everywhere in the world and blame can't be apportioned for that- it's nature. But there must have been a population explosion at Sudsee and they weren't fussy where they went. Andy and Rikki were great in coming to everyone's aid, but I think bringing in a pest control expert needs to be considered as there's only so much DIY shop purchased antkiller can do.
Those aside - it is a great place and we would highly recommend Sudsee to anyone.
(For info: It cost €166 for four days hire of an Opel Astra at Europcar in Soltau. Excellent service. However, they don't accept paper-style licences - only photocard licences.)
Confirmed guest: 09 June 2016
Published on: 21 June 2016
10 out of 10

Andrew

Family (the eldest child is at school)
Very good holiday. Great location. Nearly as good as duinrell.
Confirmed guest: 04 June 2016
Published on: 08 June 2016
1 out of 10

Alice

London
Had my 10year old granddaughter with us no nights entertainment restaurants very expensive swimming pool very expensive nothing to do in the evening
Confirmed guest: 04 June 2016
Published on: 12 June 2016

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, we're very sorry to hear this parc was not for you but do hope that there were some elements of your holiday that you were able to enjoy. Thank you for your feedback, Customer Care Team

Start your holiday ...