Valle Romantica Campsite

Lake Maggiore, Italian Lakes

Site code: IL012

Reviews

Lake Maggiore, Valle Romantica reviews verified by Reevoo

Parc
7.9
Accommodation
7.1
Value for money
7.5
Eurocamp couriers
8.1
Overall rating
7.8
Scores 7.8 out of 10 based on 33 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
5 out of 10

Joanne

Family (the eldest child is at school)
Campsite facilities need updating, no toilet paper or soap in wash places. Tent leaked! On the plus side the restaurant is good !
Confirmed guest: 10 August 2015
Published on: 25 August 2015
8 out of 10

Emma

London Family (the eldest child is at school)
Romantica is a beautiful site. Immaculately kept with private pitches and a lovely pool. The washing and toilet blocks are spotless and the little restaurant serves basic but food food. We have been holidaying with Eurocamp and similar companies around Europe for years and felt this year the accommodation let us down. We stayed in a maxi tent which felt grubby and it wasn't fully equipt having to ask the vourirfor things that were missing. I feel that the bent could do with modernising as they felt tired and old. We stayed in 4 other campsites this trip and felt that the accommodation lacked in consistency. Whereas some were perfect, others below standard. I would 100% visit Romantica again as its a stunning place but would not stay in a Eurocamp tent of the same standard.
Confirmed guest: 18 August 2015
Published on: 22 August 2015
8 out of 10

Emma

Family (the eldest child is at school)
Gorgeous area with beautiful views. Have visited better parcs. Toilet & shorts are dated and often had to que. nice restaurant on site and fairly good value. Not a great deal to do for older children other than the pool which is quite small.
Confirmed guest: 14 August 2015
Published on: 22 August 2015
8 out of 10

Aiden

Sutton coldfield Family (the eldest child is at school)
Very little in the way of facilities. I would not visit again, glad we where only using for stopover. Eurocamp charged alot a night for old, tired accommodation.
Confirmed guest: 10 August 2015
Published on: 19 August 2015
10 out of 10

Tamsin

Cambridge Family (the eldest child is at school)
Great holiday in a beautiful parc, so relaxing and perfect for a complete get away. The kids love the river and the lake, and are fully entertained from morning till night.
Confirmed guest: 13 August 2015
Published on: 17 August 2015
9 out of 10

Matthew

Couple
Very pretty campsite, cannobio is a foodies dream, campsite family run restaurant so friendly. Great holiday
Confirmed guest: 26 June 2015
Published on: 16 August 2015
3 out of 10

Brigid

Family (the eldest child is at school)
This is our 5th Eurocamp / keycamp holiday in recent years and I have to say the most disappointing yet.

The park is advertised as having a pool complex with a 'separate small pool for babies/toddlers' - in actual fact this 'small pool' for babies and toddlers is a 1 m diameter inflatable paddling pool, which obviously is not fit for purpose. The pool operated with highly restrictive opening hours for high season, not opening until 10.30, closing again for lunch, and closing for the day at 5:30pm. Given it was the only area of the campsite that got much sun after 5.30pm, it is a real shame it did not stay open later.

As you arrived at the site, they had a narrow entrance, v difficult for cars to pass each other, with only wooden fencing concealing steep drops to the side. Not relaxing for when arriving/departing the site.

The facilities were very basic. The small shop was adequate but the listed 'bar', 'restaurant' and 'takeaway' were actually all in fact one establishment serving very restricted menus at lunchtime and for takeaway. Staff at the restaurant, and throughout the campsite were not overly friendly, with some exceptions.

Eurocamp pictures were variable but often small, but some with nice views? Ours was very close to the bushes allowing for lots of wildlife e.g. mice, at night. The tent was also very old with some fixtures e.g. the roll-up awning broken, and our fridge had to be changed because it was not working. To be fair our courier did her best and helped move the fridge and replace it with another but that one had no freezer door, which was not ideal. We had a real issue with mosquitoes but I guess you take that chance when travelling to Italy.

Connobio itself was a lovely beautiful tourist town with fantastic views over the lake, and great traditional markets. It's a shame the lakefront was in shade during the evening. Areas to visit on boat trips were stunning, and the ease of access to Switzerland was a bonus.

There were no large supermarkets nearby which might not bother some people but the small ones in town were overcrowded and not relaxing to shop in.

In summary, this is a lovely stunning area of Italy that I would be happy to return to but would not stay in Valley Romantica again, and am disappointed with the Eurocamp experience this year compared to others.

Confirmed guest: 06 August 2015
Published on: 16 August 2015

Start your holiday ...