Domaine de Chalain Campsite

Lac de Chalain, Jura

Site code: JU012

Reviews

Chalain, Domaine De Chalain reviews verified by Reevoo

Parc
8.0
Accommodation
7.6
Value for money
8.1
Eurocamp couriers
8.0
Overall rating
8.2
Scores 8.2 out of 10 based on 141 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
10 out of 10

Nina

Family (the eldest child is at school)
We enjoyed our Eurocamp holiday. overall it is a great experience, lots to do onsite. the area around you is beautiful. A lovely group of euro camp reps always there to help and give advice. Very friendly!
Only downside was that you cant predict the weather, in August we had some hot days and some cooler days so pack jeans and a cardigan too.
Confirmed guest: 21 August 2015
Published on: 31 August 2015
8 out of 10

Sharon

Bradford Family (the eldest child is at school)
Great campsite in a stunning location . We were quite a way from the centre so we were glad we had our bikes. Perfect for kids, the lake is beautiful and the swimming pool complex one of the best we have used. Just the right size for you to be able to keep an eye on the kids and various play areas on the weather is a bit cool. The inside pool has been extended so on the cooler days we used that, could get very busy on those days!
Confirmed guest: 22 August 2015
Published on: 28 August 2015
5 out of 10

Roger

Cambridge Family (the eldest child is at school)
We stayed in a Eurocamp 3 Bed Chalet. The chalet itself was fine, apart from the doors which were broken, had bits of their locking mechanism missing, and couldn't be locked securely. This problem was half fixed when we complained - but the doors still did not lock as securely as they should have done. (Even a small person of low strength would have been able to force them open very easily, had they wished to). This situation was considered 'acceptable' by Eurocamp and we were told nothing further could be done.

The worst thing about our holiday at this site was the overcrowding of chalets. Whilst trying to eat meals on the decking, at any time we could be closely watched by 5 other families. We had no privacy, were able to view other people taking showers in their chalets (whilst eating dinner on our decking), and couldn't believe how little space had been left between chalets. Outside of our chalet we had the decking area and a tiny area in which we had to squeeze our car between our chalet and the one nextdoor. The parking area was so small we had to exit the back of the car before parking as there was no room to open the back doors! We had two recliner chairs, presumably for relaxing on outside of our chalet, but were unable to use them - as there was nowhere to put them when our car was parked.

For supposed high-end camping (and the amount we paid) our conditions were so far from suitable that we would positively put people off using Eurocamp to book anything similar.

We appreciate that Eurocamp could not be held responsible for the site and its amenities but sadly we found these below the standards we have enjoyed throughout France previously. The monkey tree climbing experience was fantastic and we couldn't fault it. The water parc however was another big disappointment - again due to overcrowding. During hot days it was impossible to really use the parc as it was so busy literally nobody had space to move.
Confirmed guest: 15 August 2015
Published on: 26 August 2015

Thank you for your feedback, we're delighted the Monkey Forest was a big hit!
We do however want our customers to have an enjoyable holiday overall and so it's such a shame to hear about your recent disappointment. We are sorry to learn that you were not entirely happy with your pitch and the privacy it offered. We’re always looking at ways in which we can improve on our customers’ holiday experience, so we’ll be sure to pass your comments onto our Contracting Manager, who will be reviewing the pitches over the course of the holiday season.
Thanks again for your feedback, we really appreciate your comments, they help us improve and implement changes on our parcs that enable our customers to have fantastic experiences on their holidays with us. Customer Care Team

9 out of 10

Kirsten

Family (the eldest child is at school)
We only used this for a one night stop over. We will definitely want to visit it again for longer.
Confirmed guest: 15 August 2015
Published on: 24 August 2015
9 out of 10

Dawn

Chelmsford, Essex Family (the eldest child is at school)
Park was nice, and stunning scenery, but also open to the public so when you finally get into the park you are faced with a Hugh car park which was jam packed. The public are able to use the lake, pay to use the swimming pool which isn't big enough for the public and the campers? You are not able to swim in the pool as no room, the queues for the slides were long. The public can also use the take away and ice cream facilities therefore making it very busy. The park itself was very over crowded especially the tents and touring caravans they were all parked on top of each other, so not looking organised.
Confirmed guest: 10 August 2015
Published on: 22 August 2015
7 out of 10

Louise

Lancashire Family (the eldest child is at school)
The setting is beautiful, accommodation great. Not enough staff to deal with the amount of people there. Cumbersome booking system for activities, queue up and then they might not even be available. Golf buggies whizzing around at high speed driven by kids!!! Some rude staff one who shouted out in French "no English, no English, French" and dint ebven try to understand the youth asking for a triangle for the pool table.
Confirmed guest: 14 August 2015
Published on: 22 August 2015
9 out of 10

Nicola

wales Family (the eldest child is at school)
Parc was delightful very well equipped indeed. Such beautiful scenery around the lake.
The staff were brilliant no issues what so ever.
The mobile home was sufficient, just lack of privacy with neighbours. The caravans are too close together or all need fence panels.
Confirmed guest: 15 August 2015
Published on: 22 August 2015

Start your holiday ...