Domaine de Massereau Campsite

Sommières, Languedoc

Site code: WM032

Reviews

Sommieres, Domaine De Massereau reviews verified by reevooReevoo

Parc
9.3
Accommodation
8.6
Eurocamp couriers
9.0
Value for money
8.8
Overall Holiday
9.0
Scores 9.0 out of 10 based on 58 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
9 out of 10

Brain

Northampton
We stayed here in September when most of the cliental were not of school age!Domaine de Massereau is small parc offering peace and tranquillity yet close to close to numerous places to visit. The accommodation is situated under a wooded area. Each plot is large allowing some shade and privacy. The lodges are well maintained, offering good accommodation. They could seem crammed with full occupancy (7) but for 4, it was fine. The parc is well maintained. The staff are polite, helpful and friendly. Peter, the eurocamp courier was excellent, going above and beyond his role to ensure holiday makers enjoyed their stay.
The site has a good restaurant which is busy every night serving a delicious range of dishes. Portion sizes are huge! But this seems to be their trademark.
There are two pools, both quite deep. Fine for adults but not so good for our timid 3 year old.
The wine tasting at the vineyard was great fun (and interesting)!
We would recommend this site because we love what it offers however if you want noisy entertainment, discos, kid clubs, English food etc this is not for you.
Confirmed guest: 24 September 2016
Published on: 10 October 2016
8 out of 10

John

Shoreham-by-Sea
The main criticism we have is that the lighting in the cabin was too dim to read by in the main room after sunset. We bought replacement bulbs in the local supermarket to use for the duration of our stay. The bulbs provided were 11W ecobulbs which equate to about 50W for the old incandescent type of bulb.
Could also have used a bit more kitchen worksurface.
The site was lovely, the staff friendly & helpful & the local town of Sommieres delightful.
We enjoyed the wine tasting, but didn't try the restaurant.
Confirmed guest: 23 September 2016
Published on: 27 September 2016
9 out of 10

Paul

Exeter
The park is set in a lovely area within walkimng distance or a very short dive of the beautiful town of Sommieres. The staff were friendly and helpful, although the reception staff need to be reminded of the freebies on offer to Eurocamp customers, as they didn't seem to know about this. In the end we decided it was a bit hot for a sauna anyway so it wasn't a big deal. Another minor problem was that our aircon card ran out the night before we left - we assumed it would last for our entire stay-not an unreasonable assumption. Peter the Courier lent us his, so the problem was quickly resolved.The restaurant was of a high quality but as per other reviews the portion sizes were over generous.
The cabins were small but comfortable, although the living area could have been bigger and kitchen workspace was very limited. The only major concern we had was that our particular cabin was not really suitable for the toddler who was part of our party as there were 4 or 5 steps up to the decking and rocky ground just beneath these steps. She could easily have fallen down these so we had to be constantly vigilant. A cabin with decking on ground level or far fewer steps would have been better. I think Eurocamp should bear this in mind when allocating accomodation for parties including young, vulnerable but mobile youngsters.
Confirmed guest: 12 September 2016
Published on: 16 September 2016
10 out of 10

Annette

Stafford
This was our 5th visit to this site and as always it fully met our expectations. it is quiet and friendly with good facilities and an excellent restaurant (although portions are so large that one can become overfaced!)
The wooden chalets are situated on large pitches with a good degree of privacy. Our only criticism would be that after so many years the accomodation is becoming a little jaded and is in need of some renovation (the creaking chalet floor was somewhat ominous).
The area provides the opportunity for many activities and the cycle track into the lovely town of Sommieres is a real bonus. A selection of good beaches are within less than an hour's drive.
Confirmed guest: 10 September 2016
Published on: 15 September 2016

Start your holiday ...