Le Bois de Valmarie Campsite

Argelès-sur-Mer, Roussillon

Site code: WM014

Reviews

Argelès, Le Bois De Valmarie reviews verified by Reevoo

Parc
8.9
Accommodation
8.4
Value for money
8.4
Eurocamp couriers
9.0
Overall rating
9.0
Scores 9.0 out of 10 based on 63 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
10 out of 10

kevin

Bridgend
Very well run, clean and friendly site .
Confirmed guest: 20 June 2016
Published on: 23 June 2016
10 out of 10

Kelly

Stockport Family (with only pre-school children)
Fantastic park just perfect for our young family (3 year old and 9month old). Nice and quiet in the evening so we could get them to bed as usual and enjoy a wine or two with BBQ on the decking.Brilliant pools, water slides and play park.
Confirmed guest: 15 June 2016
Published on: 23 June 2016
8 out of 10

John

Norfolk Family (the eldest child is at school)
Great parc in a lovely area. Did the hour round trip on the road train and didn't see another parc that made me wish I was there instead! Great playarea for children on site (shame there was no swing though) and the pool was lovely. Well stocked shop and restaurant with good choice of food. The lasagne was the nicest I've ever eaten! Accomodation was as expected, clean and compact. Racou beach is just across the road. Was difficult to get to a bigger supermarket off the park without a car. The roadtrain was only running 1 route on half service as it was early June, would have been easier to get to supermarket and Argeles village and Argeles beach in July and August. 10 mins walk to bus stop to Perpignan, Coulliere, Port Vendres and bus is only 1 euro which is great value. Would visit again
Confirmed guest: 11 June 2016
Published on: 20 June 2016
8 out of 10

Carolyn

Stafford Couple
Not the largest campsite in the world but cleverly designed so you each get a small private space with enough room for one car adjacent. Perfect for the beach or the lovely seaside town of Argeles ( walking distance along a safe patch) and for the restaurants of Port Argeles. Campsite is immaculate with an amenity block like you've never seen complete with goldfish! Steve and Maria are lovely couriers - Steve gave us the best welcome we have ever had in 20 years of Eurocamping - and were there if needed but not interfering. Not a great site if you want large open spaces ( because there aren't any) and probably very busy in the summer because of the proximity to the beach but lovely in May. Ideal for visits to Spain around the coast road and for trips into the mountains....Ceret and Amelie Les Bains are lovely towns in the foothills...fantastic coastal walks too on good paths.
Confirmed guest: 04 June 2016
Published on: 11 June 2016
8 out of 10

Richard

Nottingham Family (the eldest child is at school)
We are a family with children of 4 and 1, and stayed at Le Bois de Valmarie on 28th May 2016. We caught a taxi from Perpignan Airport to the campsite and it cost around 60 Euros each way. We decided not to hire a car for our trip due to a fuel strike, and although we managed without one, if we went again we would either hire or drive as a car would have come in handy for several trips, such as to drive to the Lidl supermarket which was a 30 minute walk each way, and to explore the surrounding villages and towns.

The location: The Campsite is based just south of the Port, around a 15 minute walk to the port which has some very nice bars, restaurants, shops and mini markets. There are also several boat trips from the port including to Collioure, which I would highly recommend as it is a stunning seaside town with several castles, cafes, bars, shops, and a great market on certain days. We found the campsite shop and restaurant to be very expensive. For example, the prices in the campsite shop are generally 3-4 times higher for the same products at Lidl. The port restaurants were also fairly expensive. However, if you walk to the centre of Argeles along the sea front, there is row upon row of restaurants which are much more reasonable priced, and the quality of the food was excellent. The beaches are very clean and were very quiet when we were there, although they are a little bit stony and not the greatest for the kids to play on, and there is a steep shelf so the sea gets deep very quickly. Argeles and the surrounding landscape is very picturesque, with beautiful beaches, snow capped mountains, and several Chateaus/castles.

The Park: The park has got fantastic facilities for kids, including 3 swimming pools with 5 water slides for kids (and adults) of all ages. From the swimming pool, there is a great view of the beach and sea down below. They have a kids club during high season although our kids preferred the pool so they didn’t go to this. They have a great kids park. They have a shop and a restaurant, although as stated above these tend to be far more expensive than the Lidl and restaurants along the beach front. Steve and Maria were our Eurocamp couriers and they were fantastic, really friendly and helpful.

The Chalets: Our chalet was clean and everything worked. It was great having the decking and BBQ to have a family meal outside. The cooking facilities and equipment was adequate. It was cold at night when we first arrived and you don’t get duvets (just sheets and blankets) so we had to ask for extra blankets to keep warm.

Overall I would recommend this campsite, the location, and would certainly consider going back there but next time with a car.
Confirmed guest: 04 June 2016
Published on: 08 June 2016
10 out of 10

Clive

BLACKBURN Couple
We have visited this area many times and enjoy walking and sightseeing in this fantastic area.
Confirmed guest: 15 May 2016
Published on: 19 May 2016
10 out of 10

N

Belfast Family (the eldest child is at school)
Already booked for next year!!!
Confirmed guest: 18 July 2015
Published on: 25 September 2015

Start your holiday ...