Les Tropiques Campsite

Torreilles-Plage, Roussillon

Site code: WM019


Torreilles Plages, Les Tropiques reviews verified by Reevoo

Value for money
Eurocamp couriers
Overall rating
Scores 8.5 out of 10 based on 40 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
8 out of 10

Confirmed holidaymaker

Good site with very few English guests. During the week we were there it was nice to see lots of French guests but all the entertainment was in French. Not a bad thing but kids found it hard to understand what was going on.
Confirmed guest: 02 September 2015
Published on: 11 September 2015
8 out of 10


Shrewsbury Family (the eldest child is at school)
We were there in the last week of the parks summer opening. This was a good thing as it was previously very busy, but much quieter for our holiday. Nice pool complex. The children loved the slides. Clean, well run "Sunelia" park. Neighbouring campsite had noisy discos at night which were a bit annoying. Nothing of interest to see in the local area. Beaches ok but rather steep by the waters edge so we didn't leave the park much. The sunelia staff were lovely, very energetic running entertainment for the kids. Accomodation fine - clean but basic level of equipment. We liked being able to borrow games and beach equipment for free from Eurocamp. Recommend bolongerie on nearby retail park (turn right at the roundabout, then get off at next roundabout)
Confirmed guest: 05 September 2015
Published on: 10 September 2015
8 out of 10


Leeds Family (the eldest child is at school)
Good campsite close to beach. Tony & Tracey (couriers) were very helpful & friendly. We stayed for 10 nights & would have like have provided with more than 1 set of linen. Otherwise had a great holiday.
Confirmed guest: 29 August 2015
Published on: 08 September 2015
9 out of 10


London Family (the eldest child is at school)
Veryenjoyable parc, nicely spaced out slots. Tony and Tracey very helpful on parc with Eurocamp. Great facilities, close to beach. some noise at night but not Les Tropiques fault as next door site but stops at midnight.

fantastic pool and clean etc.
Confirmed guest: 30 August 2015
Published on: 03 September 2015
10 out of 10


London Family (with only pre-school children)
We stayed at Les Tropiques for 11 nights in August.

We drove from North London via the Eurotunnel and stopped overnight (going) at Orleans (south of Paris). In total our drive from Calais with 3 pit stops (including one for the motel) took us 10.5 hours at a steady 80mph (130kph). Tolls were €71 each way.

We were pre-greeted by Tony and Tracey on our journey down by SMS. They asked for our arrival time and we told them 4pm. Tony met us at the front barrier and showed up to our accommodation. During the induction to the camp Tony told us where the best supermarkets were located and then gave us a card to use for the electronic barrier to the main site. We paid Tony a £20 deposit for the card which was refunded on the last day.

At first I was extremely sceptical about Eurocamp. Our accommodation (the “Esprit”) is classed as a 3 bedroom (sleeping 8), with a single bathroom (which is just a shower and a sink). The central area houses a table, a few chairs and the kitchen. Our unit (and I believe most all now) include an air conditioning unit in the main area. Outside is a spacious deck area covered by a tarpaulin. Beside the deck was a large BBQ and parking for one car.

We found the Eurocamp section comprised mainly of Brits but also families from Ireland and Northern Ireland. Everybody was friendly and we (as newbies) were given plenty of useful advice.

Swimming area
• The pool area is gated and opens at 10am. Disabled access is via a separate barrier.
• There are two lifeguards managing 4 pools and the 2 main slide areas.
• At lunch and at busy periods (typically August between 12-2pm) do not leave any unattended towels if you leave the swimming pool area as the lifeguards will remove them (to allow others to use the sunbeds). We went to lunch in shifts!
• No food is allowed anywhere in the pool area; given the area is nice and clean I can see why this is so.
• And men (whatever girth) have to wear tight swimming trunks (think speedos, no pockets). This is enforced as I found out after €16 cost!

There are a variety of pools onsite ranging from a small toddler pool to a large unheated pool. The heated pool is by the entrance and is extremely busy (mainly with kids jumping in). Next to that is another large pool but being unheated is less busy.

There is a small supermarket on site that sells the essentials. It is also expensive. Milk for example was close to €2. Beside the supermarket is a boulangerie (bakery) that sells freshly made croissants and bread (including ciabatta bread) in the morning. You can also pick up a newspaper here as well.

If you have a car, both Lidl and Aldi are approx. 4 miles away. Each are a decent size, good parking and a good selection of food and drink. The hypermarkets are approx. 10 miles away (but definitely worth it if you only plan on a stop shop strategy and use the local supermarket on site for bread, milk and croissants.

Back on the campsite there is one restaurant (by the entertainment area). We ate there twice and cost wise was probably a luxury for us considering we are a family of 5 and both meals worked out at £10 per head (including drinks). The food was very good (hence why we went twice). You can only book this restaurant (in our experience) on the day after 6.30-7pm (the restaurant opens about 7-7.15pm). Because this is not a Eurocamp site (it is a Sunelia run site) the restaurant appeared to be reserved for Sunelia customers on Friday night. We wanted to eat on Friday and were told that all the tables were fully booked (if not actually occupied) between 7-9.30pm.

This disappointment made us use the snack bar and despite being quite busy we ordered some decent food (mainly burgers and chips). Our understanding was that this snack bar is used a lot by people who cook their own food or do BBQs as the snack bar chips were superb! We used the snack bar (mainly for chips) three times for our 3 BBQs.

Next to the restaurant is also a pizza parlour we didn’t try so effectively you have 3 options to eat out. In the middle of all this is the bar, games room and entertainment area.

Venture outside
As you leave the camp directly opposite is where the market and fun fair is held. The later although pricey is definitely value for money as they give the kids several minutes on the rides. Opposite this is a mobile pizza place we didn’t use but were told it was very popular (more so than the onsite pizza parlour). I queued up for 30 minutes with people jumping in front of me. Apparently the best way to use this pizza place is to pre-book. I would warn you that is gets very busy! Almost beside the pizza place is a small shop that sells food and drink much like a supermarket (but clearly it has been set up as a temporary structure). They sell wine by sealable plastic jugs (I think 3litres) and was a very popular service (and reasonably cheap). They have a selection of fruit, vegetables and olives you can try (depending on the time of year) before buying.

It took us a few days to get into the Eurocamp spirit - yes we would have liked more space inside the cabin – yes we would like to have understood why there were so many rules for the swimming area (e.g. men must wear speedos, no food at the poolside, no shoes / flip flops inside the pool area etc.) but we come away having really enjoyed Les Tropiques. We liked Eurocamp so much we have booked La Chapelle in 2016 (about 15 minutes from Les Tropiques but near Canet beach).

Confirmed guest: 26 August 2015
Published on: 03 September 2015
8 out of 10


Family (the eldest child is at school)
First time at a Eurocamp. Had a week in a private villa the week before, before trying Eurocamp for 4 nights. After the initial culture shock of the number of people on site, a chaotic arrivals procedure and the size of accommodation. We settled in nicely thanks to Tony the onsite courier. A Eurocamp holiday is not necessarily our "cup of tea" (wife & I) but the kids (two boys aged 7) absolutely loved it and have insisted we go to a Eurocamp next year for at least a week.
Confirmed guest: 19 August 2015
Published on: 28 August 2015
6 out of 10


Just too noisy at night. Not the camp's fault but it's location is next to other noisy camps and kept us awake.
Confirmed guest: 22 August 2015
Published on: 28 August 2015

Start your holiday ...