La Chapelle Campsite

Argelès-Plage, Roussillon

Site code: WM034

Reviews

Argeles, Camping La Chapelle reviews verified by Reevoo

Parc
7.9
Accommodation
8.1
Value for money
7.9
Eurocamp couriers
8.1
Overall rating
8.4
Scores 8.4 out of 10 based on 163 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
5 out of 10

John

Grafton Underwood Family (the eldest child is at school)
A disappointing parc with limited facilities, no shop. Situated right in the middle of a tacky seaside town. The pool complex however was lovely.
Confirmed guest: 15 August 2015
Published on: 26 August 2015
9 out of 10

Clare

Ware, hertfordshire Family (the eldest child is at school)
Fantastic park. Swimming facilities were great. The kids enjoyed the astro football pitch and trampoline. The Buddha bar had a great atmosphere and was good value for money. The patisserie was excellent and accommodation was comfortable. Fantastic location.
Confirmed guest: 12 August 2015
Published on: 25 August 2015
8 out of 10

paul

warwick Family (the eldest child is at school)
Really enjoyed our stay at la chappelle, good location and pool complex, and tennis was free which was a nice surprise !
Confirmed guest: 18 August 2015
Published on: 22 August 2015
9 out of 10

Wendy

Bedford Family (the eldest child is at school)
A fantastic holiday.
Confirmed guest: 15 August 2015
Published on: 22 August 2015
7 out of 10

Claire

Family (with only pre-school children)
We stayed at La Chapelle for 2 weeks in August 2015 in a 3 bedroom, 1 bath espace. We paid extra for a pitch with a better view. We were very disappointed with what we were given. Yes there was a view, but only if you sat at the end of the decking, it couldn't be seen from inside. The mobile homes were packed very closely together and there was virtually no space to park a car. My husband had to turn the wing-mirrors in and climb out of the passenger side of the car, to avoid it being in the road. The road itself was so narrow that it wasn't very safe for young children cycling around (many cars were parked in the road). We were glad we had a hire car with us as we saw a few incidents of kids tumbling off their bikes and bumping into parked cars.
The campsite itself was nice. The pool area was lovely and the water slides were a hit for our boys (aged 2 and 4). The Boulangerie was very good for bread etc. although we did miss a shop on the site. From our pitch, it was a bit of a walk to the nearest shop.
Angeles plage itself is VERY busy and we didn't enjoy it much. We visited other smaller beaches in the area (Banylus Sur mer and Collioure) which were lovely. The traffic was always busy getting into and out of argeles.
The eurocamp kids club was a disappointment. It was very quiet and wasn't anything like we'd experienced last year at St Avit Loisirs, Dordogne. The staff were friendly, but it was certainly lacking in something. My son only went once. We were told by one courier that eurocamp has been taken over and has made cuts to save money. Not sure if that's true, but it might explain why. The 'learn to ride' had ended in June (seems strange, as that's in term time when there will be less school-aged children).
Also, I'm disappointed that 'learn to ride' is only offered to children over 3 yrs. My youngest son is 2 years 8 months and has already mastered a balance bike and my eldest son learned to ride a bike last year with eurocamp, at 3 yrs 3 months.
There is a huge amount to do and see in the surrounding area. A few highlights were the African Reserve in Sigean, the Tortoise Park and Aqualand. Aqualand had several slides suitable for our children (aged 2&4).
The 'lifecycle' bike hire on site was brilliant, as was Ethan, who ran it. We hired bikes for the kids for the full 2 weeks and my husband and I hired 2 bikes and a trailer for 2 free guided bike rides with Ethan. We thoroughly enjoyed this. The cycle hire was very reasonably priced.
All in all, I would recommend the park to people who like a lively area with lots to do. The weather was lovely and the two families either side of our pitch go back year on year. However, I don't think Argeles is for us.
Confirmed guest: 15 August 2015
Published on: 22 August 2015
8 out of 10

Neil

Birmingham Family (the eldest child is at school)
Overall it was a great holiday. The park is a little different to other Eurocamp ones I've stopped at as it was right in middle of town therefore it had less facilities (pool WAS FANTASTIC THOUGH!). That wasn't an issue for me as everything was two mins outside the front gate. Also it is a typical South of France park.... very crowded!! Just something to bear in mind. PLUS you aren't going to get privacy here, but then again I have nothing to hide LOL.
Confirmed guest: 12 August 2015
Published on: 18 August 2015
10 out of 10

Jacob

Northampton Family (the eldest child is at school)
We had a fantastic time, the parc was great, plenty to do but not too loud after dark. The children enjoyed the pools/slides and took part in football and table tennis competitions. The beach was not too far away (10 minute walk).
Confirmed guest: 11 August 2015
Published on: 16 August 2015

Start your holiday ...