Domaine d'Oléron

Ile De Oléron, Vendee

Site code: AT012

Reviews

Ile De Oléron, Domaine D'Oléron reviews verified by Reevoo

Accommodation
8.3
Value for money
8.4
Parc
8.5
Eurocamp couriers
9.2
Overall rating
8.7
Scores 8.7 out of 10 based on 37 reviews
Reviews and scores from the last 12 months.
10 out of 10

June

Chard
As we are in the older age spectrum we look for comfort, a quiet site and a well organised situation. We have had four excellent holidays here.The parc provides everything one would wish for. Ron the courier is one of Eurocamp's "stars" and couldn't do more. The managers Anneke and Freddy are friendly and helpful at all times. The parc and facilities are very well maintained ,particularly the swimming pool.
Confirmed guest: 15 September 2014
Published on: 21 September 2014
9 out of 10

Karen

Frinton
Small, clean, child friendly parc
Confirmed guest: 02 September 2014
Published on: 08 September 2014
8 out of 10

Confirmed holidaymaker

Wirral
Our second visit to this Eurocamp site and we were not disappointed. The site is relatively small and allows freedom for children but allows you to monitor them relatively easily. The site is very clean and the facilities (apart from the on-site restauarant/shop) are excellent also. The team running the site are exceptional and very helpful, however, our expereince of the on-site restuarant was disappointing with the staff not being particularly helpful or welcoming, and the shop was shut for most of the afternoon so you could not buy basic provisions such as drinks and ice-creams.
Although we went with Eurocamp again, their sites and mobile homes are not as modern as other operators and unless these are replaced in 2015, we would look to book with another operator on the site, or look for another park to visit in a similar location!
Confirmed guest: 27 August 2014
Published on: 07 September 2014
9 out of 10

Confirmed holidaymaker

Loved Ile d'Oleron as a holiday destination. Lots of cycle tracks, lovely beaches and local markets in every town. Shame the weather wasn't a little warmer.
Confirmed guest: 30 August 2014
Published on: 07 September 2014
9 out of 10

Lesley

Bury St Edmunds
We had a very enjoyable few days at this park.
Confirmed guest: 29 August 2014
Published on: 05 September 2014
8 out of 10

Jerome

London
we had a lovely time, tks. the pool should be heated for the kids.
Confirmed guest: 23 August 2014
Published on: 03 September 2014
8 out of 10

Tracy

Sutton Coldfield
In brief the site was quiet and clean, however the static caravan was a little tired. Location was great for the whole family cycling everywhere, and the local beach was beautiful and unspoilt. Eating out locally we found the food to be excellent. Ron the courier was friendly and helpful. Would we visit again in the future? - possibly.

In more detail: We stayed here for a week & the second half of our holiday (having spent one week at a Eurocamp in Beynac, which was beautiful and we were a tad spoilt). There is one main road onto the island, which was busy and industrious. However, once off the main road is was more appealing and pleasant.

The site whilst full was smallish and quiet (which we liked) and everyone was friendly - well patronized by the British, French and Dutch. Reception staff spoke very good English and Ron the courier was welcoming, pleasant, helpful and had a good knowledge of the Island and where best to eat. The site whilst in need of the hedges and grass cutting was clean and tidy. The pool area and wash facilities were exceptionally clean.

My 12 year old daughter soon made friends and was off playing, the site seemed very safe and the teenagers/her age group were well behaved - noise levels very quiet/minimal after 10.00pm - no issues with rowdy kids etc. Very family orientated and friendly site.

The Caravan itself served it's purpose but looked a little tired.

As for the Island it grew on us - we cycled everywhere and every day, clocking up a fair few miles. Once off the main road there was miles of cycle paths through lovely fields and wooded areas. The cycle to the local beach was a delight - through the forest and via trail paths, leading directly onto the unspoilt beach. We also cycled to the beaches on the otherside of the island, however these was far busier and not as nice.

Local amenities were good - not too far to travel to one of the best supermarkets we have ever been to, along with the extensive fresh fish and seafood available at local markets.

We ate out quite a few times, mainly in the port areas. Locally we ate at a couple of restaurants in Port du Duhet, one of which Ron recommended and both were excellent.

Weather - tended to rain during the middle of the night, but was a mixture of cloud and sunshine during the day. We had two or three days of hot sunshine.

Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Confirmed guest: 20 August 2014
Published on: 26 August 2014

Start your holiday...